top of page
  • Writer's picturecougarchronicle

Bowling Down Barriers

by Gabey Vogeler



Art by Ashlee Burroughs

Senior Brayden VanOverberghe closely qualifies for bowling regionals for the second time in his career.

“Personally I felt like I was going to struggle in sectionals,” VanOverberghe said, “but I managed to bowl a series of 557 and make the cut for the Elkhart regionals.”

VanOverberghe finished 10th in his sectional, struggling with maintaining consistency in his shots throughout the regular season, “but when I started being more consistent I felt like anything was possible.” VanOverberghe explained.

Although the team missed the cut for regionals by 38 pins, “ We finished 4th and walked out with our heads held high because we bowled our hearts out.” VanOverberghe stated.

At regionals, he did not bowl well enough to advance but finished his high school career with a 186.

“Finishing my career at regionals was probably the best thing ever because my dad was down there coaching me and my mom was there supporting me as well. I never wanted it to end but I'm glad it ended the way it did.” VanOverberghe said.

His favorite bowling memory was when both him and his sister qualified for individual regionals.

Even though the bowling team was co conference champs last year, they were unable to improve their standings this year.

" VanOverberghe was most proud of was “how much we came together and if someone was struggling we would help that person out.”

However the thing that VanOverberghe was most proud of was “how much we came together and if someone was struggling we would help that person out.”

Some important bowlers to watch in the upcoming years are Dylan Pohl, Jimmy Goodlink, and Ian Toth.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page