top of page
  • Writer's picturecougarchronicle

Spell Bowl state results

Updated: Oct 3, 2018

by Grace Schumann

Spell Bowl Team studying for state competition.

New Prairie Spell Bowl team qualified for state competition and made 5th place in their division.

Only 11 spellers traveled state but despite their small team, they still placed 5th out of 6 teams.

“It definitely seemed a little overwhelming compared to most years, but I think it's just because we didn't have a full team to compete at state,” said junior Bailey Lenig.

State competitions are always difficult and the Spell Bowl team tried their best not to get down.

“State was a little overwhelming; we didn't have a full team, so we as a whole felt really defeated,” said junior Morgan Phillips.

Spell Bowl means a lot to its members and it also has helped create a stronger friendship between students.

“Spell Bowl is kind of like a home to me. This year was my 8th year being part of a New Prairie team so I've gotten to know a lot of my teammates really well especially because we're such a small team,” said Lenig.

Most students find a home within school clubs or teams. Spell Bowl has meant to a lot to its members and they all can say that they are proud they made it to 5th place.

“Spell bowl has a different meaning to each team member for me; it's something that I can excel in easily and I've been involved since the fourth grade so I have never known any different,” said Phillips.

NPHS spell bowl team definitely went against odds and still made it to state, and they put their best effort into the competition.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page