top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Witters

Cougar Chronicle recap, 2019-2020

This school year, the Cougar Chronicle newspaper staff has been working hard to write quality articles for the New Prairie community.

We have worked hard to overcome obstacles, including being a very small staff and working from home due to the COVID-19 Pandemic. However, we pursued through these difficulties to be the best we could be.

Cougar Chronicle Home Page

Our editor in chief, sophomore Anika LeeVan, was a great leader and always made sure we received the help we needed.

“My favorite part of Newspaper was definitely being the editor in chief because I got to be behind everything and help everyone with their articles. It was very fun being the leader to such an awesome group of people,” stated LeeVan.

This year, we had a very fun environment to work in.

Sophomore reporter Grady Lapczynski said, “It was a great group of people and we always had fun.”

Olivia Witters, a sophomore on staff, said, “I liked being able to have somewhere to go at the end of the day to spend time with my friends and get my work done.”

The staff also enjoyed having a process to follow while writing an issue.

Jena Mayfield explained, “My favorite part of Newspaper was the writing process in general. It was nice to just write our articles and get to ask each other for help while still having fun.”

Every issue, if we all completed our articles by the deadline, we would get to have a party. We brought snacks, and all relaxed while watching a movie or show.

Sophomore writer Makayla Karnes said, “My favorite part of newspaper this year was deadline parties. We all got to sit and relax while having fun.”

The staff also loved having a wonderful senior, Sage Kluge, to look up to.

“I will really miss walking through the halls of my high school and a lot of my closest friends in school. My favorite part of the school year was wearing our new uniforms for band at the football games and having all of my senior recognitions,” said Kluge.

“Some of my favorite articles that I wrote this year were the articles on our Brazilian exchange teachers and writing about the Cinderella musical,” Kluge added.

Overall, the Cougar Chronicle had a great year and it will for sure be one to remember.


46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page