top of page
  • Writer's pictureJena Mayfield

What seniors wish they knew before high school

As the school year is coming to a close we sympathize with the seniors who did not get an official end to their last year of high school. To reminisce on what it was like when they first came to high school and as a tribute to it being over, seniors gave some advice to those who are about to enter high school.


If only we could see the future.

Senior Leann Bailey would tell the upcoming high schoolers to not take it for granted.

“I wish I would have known how much I would actually miss that four years of my life. Yes, they had their ups and downs but without getting to enjoy the end of senior year I would definitely tell the underclassmen do not take it for granted,” said Bailey.

Senior Julia Jones brought up the idea of not having expectations before high school and just enjoying the experience.

“I am actually glad that I was so clueless as to what the high school experience was really like. I feel that it is easier to get more out of an experience without having to compare it to what you thought it would be like,” Jones said. “It helped me make high school into my own experience, and I hope that more people are given the chance to make it their own, as well,” she added.

Senior Jenna Kelly reassures it is not as bad as it seems.

“It will not be as bad as you think if you are open to making new friends with anyone, even the people you never talk to,” Kelly said. “Also, the teachers really are not as mean as the middle school makes them out to be.” she added.

Senior Destiny Hockman wishes she could have told herself about the good and the bad of high school.

“It’s gonna suck, but you are going to learn so much. Just remember to stay open to the experience and not close out the fun side of high school too,” Hockman said.

Senior Meia Conley hopes new high schoolers will make better choices than she did.

“I wish I would have picked the right friends for the first time. Definitely would’ve been a lot better,” Conley said.

Senior Chandler Lee wants to let new freshmen know everyone is in the same boat.

“No student knows what they are doing, everyone is the same in that,” Lee said.

Senior Petra Hemphill let people know about the amazing teachers at NPHS.

“I wish I had known how dedicated and compassionate my teachers were,” Hemphill said.

Senior Shae Alva thinks the underclassmen should get involved.

“Definitely do not take anything for granted. Go to every practice, game, dance, and school event. Soak in every second because it will not last forever,” Alva said.

Senior Jacob Jimenez says it’s all going to be worth it.

“All the hard work and effort is going to be worth it. Maybe it’s not true, but it will keep you working harder,” Jimenez said.


47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page