top of page
  • Makayla Karnes

Senior plans after graduating


Many seniors are eager to finish e-learning, and finish this school year. They have many plans for their futures.

Many seniors are going out of state for college, but some are staying here.

Senior David Swanson said, “I’m going to Indiana University to major in Business Management.”

Senior Shaye Tolch said, “I am attending Indiana University South Bend into the fine arts program.”

Due to COVID-19, graduation has changed for this year's seniors.

Tolch said, “With Corona, graduation is pushed back into July, so I’m sure a lot of seniors this year will not be having graduation parties, and doing something special to celebrate.”
Although graduation is not canceled, this pandemic has still caused other senior graduating activities, like graduation parties to be canceled, or postponed.”

Tolch said, “Yes, my graduation party is cancelled, and along with some family trips and plans with friends. I wanted to go to an amusement park with my friends the weekend after graduation which we had planned years ago, but now since it’s pushed back that’s cancelled due to having friends still wanting to have parties, and possibly not having the parks open yet.”

This year is very sad and frustrating for the seniors. They have worked very hard for what they achieved, and some feel like they haven’t got the recognition they deserve.

Tolch said, “I don’t feel like it was taken away, but I definitely feel like we’re missing out on a lot of memories like senior breakfast, prom, and just the last quarter shenanigans.”

Even though what the seniors are going through, many are excited for their futures.

Swanson said, “I’m thinking about getting an MBA in sports management, and trying to work in the NBA, or another major sports league.”

Tolch said, “I am studying fine arts, and want to be an interior designer.”

Some seniors wish that things would be normal, or how the end of their senior year could have gone better.

Tolch said, “If everything was normal I would still be working and saving money towards college, I’d definitely have a better grade in weights, and I wouldn’t be socially deprived.”

Seniors have a lot of decisions to make like where to live or if they will be about to sustain a job while being in college.

Tolch said, “Yes, I am going to live at home and maintain a job.”

Even though it is still not safe to travel, some seniors plan to travel when it is all over.

Tolch said, “I am going to Arizona as soon as COVID-19 is gone.”

Since COVID-19 is restricting travel many seniors can’t go on a senior trip with their families.

Tolch said, “If I could go anywhere I would go to Florida just to have a nice hot beach to be by.”

This year has thrown a lot at the seniors. It has changed a lot for them, but it’s great that seniors at New Prairie still get a graduation even though it may be different.

58 views0 comments
bottom of page