top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Witters

Cougars pin their way through Sectionals

New Prairie wrestler after winning a match. Photo by Ben Bachmann

The Cougars competed among six teams on February 1st at La Porte High School, and advanced 11 out of 14 athletes to the Regional Championships.

Teams competing included New Prairie, La Porte, Michigan City, Valparaiso, Chesterton, and North Judson-San Pierre.

Each wrestler competed 4 rounds in their weight class, making their way through the brackets and competing to the top.

Coach Bobby Whitenack is proud of how the team worked all season to prepare for the championships.

“We wrestled all year for the season. Our season set us up to be successful in the playoffs. Everything prior to that helps us prepare for our success and failures in the playoffs,” Whitenack explained.

He believes the team did very well as a whole.

“We qualified 11 out of 14 wrestlers to the regionals, and we’re number 3 in the state rankings right now, so we will see where that gets us after next week.”

To focus and get prepared for the Regional Championships, Whitenack said “The team will work especially hard in practice and make sure they stay focused.”

Sophomore Michael Rodriguez, who placed 3rd in the 170 pound class, was proud of how the team did the whole season and in Sectionals.

“I think the team did pretty good, said Rodriguez, “Every year our team goal is to get 30 wins and we did. The team worked pretty hard all season. Something I could have done differently is taken practice more seriously, which could have changed my outcome at Sectionals.”

Rodriguez also is proud of the way his teammates worked through the season.

“In practice, we all push each other to get better which helps us in the long run. We all just want to be successful,” Rodriguez said.

Standing out to Coach Whitenack was sophomore Hunter Whitenack, who was the champion in the 285 pound class.

Hunter worked hard all season to have a successful outcome in the playoffs.

“I knew going into this season I had a lot to prove, and winning sectionals was the first thing on my list. I worked really hard in practices and in the weight room.”

According to him, all the hard work is paying off.

“It feels absolutely awesome to be a Sectional Champ. It showed that all of my hard work is paying off, and I am very satisfied,” said Hunter.

Hunter was recently crowned champion at the Regional Championship, which was February 9th at Crown Point High School.

“I became the Regional Champion at 285 pounds, and just the 11th person ever in New Prairie history to win a regional title,” explained Hunter. “However, I know how I need to improve my wrestling ability to make a state title run this year. I believe if me and my coaches do a good job preparing, then I will do very well.”

The Cougars worked very hard all season, and their work did not go unnoticed.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page