top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnika LeeVan

New history teacher joins NP staff

Christian Porter is the newest addition to the NPHS staff. He teaches government, sociology and psychology. 

     Porter has had an interest in teaching and history for some time now and is now fulfilling that interest by teaching social studies here.

     “I think since I was little I kind of liked the correlation between coaching and teaching. I just enjoy kids. You guys here at New Prairie are super relaxed and chill. I was told there’s not really any bad kids and I haven’t had a single issue,” he said.

     Porter graduated from Purdue Northwest with a Bachelors degree in history. He is happily married. Before coming to New Prairie, he was a third grade assistant at Prairie View. 

His favorite part about New Prairie so far is the social studies department and the teachers that make it up. He specially likes teaching for the relationships and conversations he can have with students

Mr. Porter sitting at his desk in his room. Photo by Anika LeeVan.

     “I like when kids are personable and you build a relationship with them. When kids come around and they're like, ‘Mr. Porter!’ I like to raise kids,” he said. 

     When Porter isn’t teaching he is making and playing drums, snowmobiling, jet skiing, and playing basketball and power sports.

     “Something I like to do is build custom drums, and I used to build long boards, too. I like playing drums. I like building and collecting vintage drums,” he said. 

     One reason Porter chose to work at NP is because of the environment he grew up in.

     “It’s close to where I live, and I grew up in a rural school as well so there’s a lot of similarities between me and the kids here. And I enjoy coaching, and there’s a lot of coaching opportunities when it comes to basketball here,” he said.

     Porter’s classroom is room 173 in the Social Studies wing on the North side of the school.

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page