top of page
  • Sage Kluge

Rushing to prepare for Finals?

Finals are creeping up on NP students. December 16 is the week of finals. Classes will be split up on Thursday the 19th and Friday the 20th. Thursday will be 1st, 3rd, 5th, and 7th hour exams. Friday will be 2nd, 4th and 6th hour exams. 

     The class periods designated for finals on both days will last 70 minutes, and the class periods between finals on both days will last 25-35 minutes. 

     Finals week can be one of the most stressful parts of the year for students. 

     “Finals can always be stressful, the end of the year finals are the worst for me,” said senior Kelseigh Kopinski. 

     Preparing for finals can be a struggle, but students seem to find ways to make it work. Having to study, get organized, & being able to remember all of the materials, can also be difficult.     

     “I usually put myself in my room and study until I don’t need hints to answer my study guides and I know that I can answer each question in my own words,” said Kopinski.

     Michael Kmak stated that he tries to keep his grades up for the semester, that way when he takes the exams he doesn’t have to stress himself by studying so much. 

     Some strategies for studying can involve a plan, positive thoughts or being more organized.

     “Try to focus on the good things while studying for finals because not only is staying focused and relaxed very important, but your mood can greatly affect how you approach a test,” said freshman Lucas Cuerdon.

     Taking a few minutes everyday to look through notes is a plan that helps students.

      Biting off more than one can chew with your studies can be an issue. Don’t study the whole night or just start to look through notes the night before.

     “Don’t study the entire night before finals. You will be exhausted and less likely to perform your best the day of. Study a week before and make sure you’re confident with each unit before you move on,” said Kopinski.

     “Studying too much at once can lead to sleep deprivation, or misinterpreting information,” said sophomore Jacen Rea.

     When students proceed to move forward with college they continue to use those studying plans for exams.

     “I have a study group that I meet with to prepare for my test,” said 2019 graduate Kailin Strauch.

     Using methods learned from high school will help when you study for exams in college. 

     “I have been using Quizlet all year and it’s increasing my midterm grade. I went through all my finals and made a quiz out of them but my grade will either make or break my career,” said 2019 graduate Claudia Bisping.

     For finals in college, the exams could be back to back or separated for hours. Professors notify their students mainly on the online website on that particular school, or students ask. 

     “The scheduling is all sorts of different compared to a students original schedule, and the only way I found out about my finals was that I asked my English professor and he showed me where it’s posted on the IUSB website,” said Strauch.

Student studying for finals. Photo by Emily Paul.


52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page