top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarli Tharp

Student profile: Violeta Mendez

Many of the students at New Prairie High School have big hearts, but the students think it’s time to shine the spotlight on a warm-hearted, kind young women.

     Senior Violeta Mendez organizes a  fundraiser to benefit little girls in Mexico.

     Nominated by her fellow classmates, Mendez has nothing but happiness and laughter in her presence.

       “I just wanted to do something to help the little girls in my culture. It makes me happy to know that they get to feel beautiful and express themselves,” stated Mendez.

     Mendez is also participating in a small pageant in Peyote in San Luis Potosí in a small town in Mexico to raise money for the dresses as well.

      “The point of the pageant is also to help raise money for the little girls from my small town for the traditional dresses for the rodeos they participate in,” Mendez stated.

     Lots of her classmates realized a big change in her personality throughout her high school years.

     “I’ve changed a lot, being a senior now I’ve realized that these years go by very fast! So I definitely cherish them now. This year has taught me to relax and have fun,” Mendez stated.

     Mendez also finds other ways to help contribute to the community by participating in Key Club.

Violeta posing right before the homecoming dance

     Mendez sings in the schools Sapphire Choir, “ V is just so happy and her personality is so bubbly she brings smiles to our faces every time we see her,” Emmy huff stated.

      High school has transformed Mendez into a whole different person.

     “I’m very motivated to get things done and I like to work hard for my achievements,”stated Mendez.

      To add onto Mendez special quality of selfness , she’s looking into starting more fundraisers.

       “I’m still looking into another fundraiser to do. I just love being able to help out people as much as I can,” Mendez stated.

     For more information to help Violeta, reach out to her in or outside school, for any details on how to contribute.

155 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page